IPL 2011 — update 3-5-2011

Administrator(s) BCCI
Cricket format Twenty20
Tournament format(s) Group stage and playoffs
Host(s)  India
Champions TBD
Participants 10
Matches played 42 out of 74 scheduled matches played
Man of the Series TBD
Most runs MI Sachin Tendulkar (327)
Most wickets MI Lasith Malinga (19)
Official website www.iplt20.com
official Facebook page

This season the number of teams in the league went from eight to ten with the additions of the Pune Warriors India and the Kochi Tuskers Kerala. Chirayu Amin is the chairman and commissioner.

 app=””; mo=”f1″; nt=”undefined”;   wi =”w”;
 co =”1″; ad=”1″;


With the introduction of 2 new teams, a new ten-team format was created. This new format consists of 74 matches and was introduced as retaining the previous format would result in 94 matches, significantly greater than the 60 matches from the previous season, where teams compete in a double round-robin tournament. The knockout stage was changed to a playoff format. If a match ends in a tie, a Super Over will be played to determine the winner.
The ten teams are divided into two groups of five. In the group stage, each team plays 14 games: facing the other four teams in their group two times each (one home and one away game), four teams in the other group once, and the remaining team two times. A random draw was used to determine the groups and who plays whom across the groups once and twice.
Each team plays the team in the same row and the same column twice, and all others once. For instance, Pune Warriors will play Chennai Super Kings and the other Group A teams twice but the other teams from Group B (Kolkata Knight Riders, Kochi Tuskers Kerala, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Rajasthan Royals) only once. Similarly Kochi Tuskers Kerala will play Delhi Daredevils and the other Group B teams twice but all other teams from Group A only once.

Group A Group B
Deccan Chargers Kolkata Knight Riders
Delhi Daredevils Kochi Tuskers Kerala
Kings XI Punjab Royal Challengers Bangalore
Mumbai Indians Rajasthan Royals
Pune Warriors India Chennai Super Kings

Points are awarded in the group stage as follows:

Result Points
Win 2 points
No result 1 point
Loss 0 points

A four-game playoff stage following the Page playoff system is held after the group stage.
Four games will be played in the playoffs:

  • Game A, between the teams ranked first and second in the group stage.
  • Game B, between the teams ranked third and fourth in the group stage.
  • Game C, between the loser of Game A and winner of Game B.
  • Final, between the winners of Games A and C.

The top three teams from the tournament qualify for the 2011 Champions League Twenty20. Due to the new playoff format, the qualifying teams will be the top two teams of the group stage and the winner of Game B in the playoff stage.


Chennai Mumbai Kochi Kolkata
Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians Kochi Tuskers Kerala Kolkata Knight Riders
M. A. Chidambaram Stadium Wankhede Stadium Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium Eden Gardens
Capacity: 50,000 Capacity: 33,000 Capacity: 60,000 Capacity: 65,000
Ma ChidambaramStadium panaroma.jpg Wankhede Stadium Feb2011.jpg Kochi Stadium.jpg Eden Gardens.jpg
2011 Indian Premier League is located in India

Navi Mumbai
Kings XI Punjab Royal Challengers Bangalore
PCA Stadium M. Chinnaswamy Stadium
Capacity: 30,000 Capacity: 45,000
LightsMohali.png MChinnaswamy-Stadium.jpg
Hyderabad Delhi
Deccan Chargers Delhi Daredevils
Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium Feroz Shah Kotla
Capacity: 40,000 Capacity: 48,000
Uppal stadium.jpg Firoze shah.jpg
Indore Jaipur Navi Mumbai Dharamsala
Kochi Tuskers Kerala Rajasthan Royals Pune Warriors India Kings XI Punjab
Holkar Cricket Stadium Sawai Mansingh Stadium DY Patil Stadium HPCA Stadium
Capacity: 30,000 Capacity: 30,000 Capacity: 55,000 Capacity: 23,000
Dypatil 01.jpg

Teams and standings

Team Grp Pld W L NR Pts NRR
Kolkata Knight Riders B 9 6 3 0 12 +0.588
Mumbai Indians A 8 6 2 0 12 +0.582
Rajasthan Royals B 9 5 3 1 11 −0.145
Chennai Super Kings B 8 5 3 0 10 +0.247
Royal Challengers Bangalore B 8 4 3 1 9 −0.052
Kochi Tuskers Kerala B 9 4 5 0 8 −0.542
Deccan Chargers A 9 3 6 0 6 −0.070
Delhi Daredevils A 9 3 6 0 6 −0.262
Kings XI Punjab A 7 3 4 0 6 −0.398
Pune Warriors India A 8 2 6 0 4 −0.089



Most runs

Player Team Matches Innings Runs Balls Strike Rate Average HS 100s 50s 4s 6s
India Sachin Tendulkar Mumbai Indians 8 8 327 285 114.73 65.40 100* 1 2 33 5
India Virender Sehwag Delhi Daredevils 9 9 303 180 168.33 33.66 80 0 2 38 12
India Paul Valthaty Kings XI Punjab 7 7 301 203 148.27 50.16 120* 1 1 34 14
India Virat Kohli Royal Challengers Bangalore 7 7 294 219 134.24 49.00 71 0 3 30 11
India Gautam Gambhir Kolkata Knight Riders 9 9 289 227 127.31 48.16 75* 0 1 33 2

Full Table on CricinfoThe leading scorer of the league phase wears an orange cap when fielding.


Most wickets

Player Team Matches Overs Wickets Economy Rate Average Strike Rate Best Bowling
Sri Lanka Lasith Malinga Mumbai Indians 8 31.4 19 5.77 9.63 10.0 5/13
India Iqbal Abdulla Kolkata Knight Riders 9 31.0 12 6.29 16.25 15.5 3/24
Australia Shane Warne Rajasthan Royals 8 32.0 11 6.03 17.54 17.4 3/16
South Africa Morné Morkel Delhi Daredevils 8 31.0 11 7.00 19.72 16.9 3/18
Australia Doug Bollinger Chennai Super Kings 5 19.0 10 6.05 11.50 11.4 3/21

Full Table on cricinfoNote: Economy Rate acts as a tie-breaker if players are level for most wickets.Tournament’s leading wicket taker wears a purple cap when fielding.

Man of the Match Awards

Player Team MoMs
India Paul Valthaty Kings XI Punjab 2
New Zealand Brendon McCullum Kochi Tuskers Kerala 2
Australia Michael Hussey Chennai Super Kings 2
Australia Shane Warne Rajasthan Royals 2
Sri Lanka Lasith Malinga Mumbai Indians 2
India Virat Kohli Royal Challengers Bangalore 2

This page has been updated 5 times.Last updated 3-5-2011

Like it? Share with your friends!

, 124 points

Jeffry is a Mechanical Engineer by education and an aspiring writer and blogger. After working hard for around 12 hours a day on his core job, he spends his remaining time in blogging and reading articles online. And he loves to make poor jokes, so be prepared.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

log in

reset password

Back to
log in